Monsoon Session National Politics 

Monsoon Session: Parliament set for yet another Centre vs Opposition battle

New Delhi [India], July 18 : With the Monsoon Session of the Parliament kick-starting today, the Centre and Opposition would be looking forward to debates over a long pending list of bills and a slew of relevant issues. The monsoon session, which concludes on August 10, will have 18 sittings amid much-expected drama in both the houses – Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. An all-party meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi last night for smoothing functioning of the Monsoon session received a “positive” outcome, according to Union Minister Ananth…

Read More
punjab Politics 

PM Modi to address rally in Punjab to mark MSP hike

Muktsar (Punjab) [India], July 11 : Prime Minister Narendra Modi will on Wednesday address a Kisan Kalyan rally in Punjab’s Muktsar district in the wake of recent hike in Minimum Support Price (MSP) of Kharif crops. “Tomorrow I would be visiting Punjab to address a Kisan Kalyan Rally in Malout, Muktsar district. Farmers from Punjab have an invaluable contribution in the growth of India’s agriculture sector. I look forward to tomorrow’s rally,” the Prime Minister tweeted. The rally will jointly be organised by the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and Bharatiya…

Read More
assembly Politics 

U’khand CM to review development work in BJP assembly constituencies

Dehradun (Uttarakhand) [India], July 5: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat will review development work in 57 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) assembly constituencies from July 7 to July 26. The list consists of names of only 57 constituencies in 13 districts, with the names of Congress and independent seats being missed. Rawat will review works of assembly segments of Dehradun on July 7, Haridwar district on July 9, Udhamsingh Nagar on July 10, Chamoli and Rudraprayag on July 13, Nainital on July 19, Pithoragarh and Champawat on July 20, Almora…

Read More
Telangana DM Hyderabad Telangana 

More schemes for poor in Telangana: KTR

Hyderabad: Observing that poverty does not differentiate between caste and creed, IT and Industries Minister KT Rama Rao on Friday said Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao was likely to announce an action plan aimed at welfare of economically poor sections from upper caste communities. He pointed out that the State government was already implementing programmes like Kalyana Lakshmi for economically poor families notwithstanding their caste. Large number of traders and industrialists belonging to the Arya Vysya community joined TRS in the presence of KT Rama Rao at Telangana Bhavan on Friday….

Read More
Surgical Politics 

Congress accuses BJP of taking political gains from surgical strike

New Delhi [India], June 28 : A day after the video of September 2016 surgical strikes was released, the Congress party came down heavily on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and accused them of scoring political points using the footage of Indian Army’s action against terror launch pads in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir. Congress leader Randeep Surjewala while interacting with media on Thursday said the BJP “shamelessly” used the surgical strikes for their benefit during the assembly election in Uttar Pradesh. “Prime Minister Modi’s government is exploiting the slogan of ‘Jai Jawan…

Read More
bjp Politics 

Cong must choose between ‘thumkas’, winning elections: BJP

Karnal (Haryana) [India], June 25 : Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Ashwini Kumar Chopra said the Congress Party must decide what is more important to them, winning elections or ‘thumkas’ (dance move). The remark came after Haryanvi dancer Sapna Chaudhary reportedly visited UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi’s office on Sunday. Speaking to media here, the BJP MP from Karnal, said, “Congress has people already who dance, and that’s enough. The party needs to prioritise what they want to do, whether they want to dance or win an election. (Congress mein thumke…

Read More
Jayanagar Politics 

Jayanagar assembly polls: Congress takes early lead

Bengaluru (Karnataka) [India], June 13 : Congress candidate Sowmya Reddy takes initial lead from Karnataka’s Jayanagar assembly constituency after the fourth round of counting. At the time of  Jayanagar assembly filing this report, Reddy was leading with 5348 votes, followed by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate BN Prahlad. The election was countermanded after the death of BJP candidate B.N. Vijayakumar, who was the sitting MLA from the seat. Currently, the party has fielded his brother B.N. Prahlad. Earlier on June 5, the Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S) decided to support the…

Read More
speech Politics 

Chidambaram lauds Pranab’s speech at RSS event

New Delhi [India], June 8 : Senior Congress leader and former finance minister P. Chidambaram on Friday lauded former President Pranab Mukherjee for highlighting Congress’ ideology during his speech at the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) event held on Thursday. “Happy that Mr Pranab Mukherjee told the RSS what is right about Congress’ ideology. It was his way of saying what is wrong about RSS’ ideology,” Chidambaram tweeted. Mukherjee’s acceptance of the RSS’ invitation to attend the Third Year Sangha Shiksha Varga (SSV) event led to backlash from the Congress and…

Read More
young Politics 

PM to interact with young innovators today

New Delhi [India], : Prime Minister Narendra Modi will on Wednesday be part of an interaction with young innovators and start-up entrepreneurs at 9:30 a.m. It will be a very unique and a first of its kind interaction between the Prime Minister and youngsters from the world of start-up and innovation. Taking to his Twitter handle, Prime Minister Modi wrote on Tuesday, “Tomorrow at 9:30 a.m., I will take part in an exciting interaction with youngsters from the world of start-ups and innovation. The interaction offers a wonderful opportunity to…

Read More
kairana Politics 

Congress leading in RR Nagar, RLD ahead in Kairana

As the counting of the votes is underway, early trends shows that Congress candidate Munirathna is leading by 8,680 votes in Karnataka’s Rajarajeshwari Nagar or RR Nagar assembly constituency seat. The Congress party took over as soon as the counting of votes began, leaving the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) far behind in RR Nagar. On the other hand, the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) leader Tabassum Hasan is leading by over 3000 votes over BJP’s Mriganka Singh in Uttar Pradesh’s Kairana Lok Sabha constituency. Indra Vijay Singh of Shamli district, in which Kairana…

Read More

Pin It on Pinterest